Bahá'í Religion

All research or scholarship questions
tomtailford

Bahá'í Religion

Postby tomtailford » Wed Oct 20, 2010 4:09 pm

Hi all, I am new to this forum.

I'm new to the Bahá'í religion really, I have a little understanding - but I have had an Athiest upbringing and thought maybe I should investigate.

I agree with certain aspects of the Bahá'í religion, especially equality of all human beings, but also strongly disagree with certain Bahá'í teachings - ie. the prohibition of gay marriage / gay intercourse (which in my opinion contradicts equality of all human beings)

I am not gay, I try to think logically, I think my approach with religion so far has been to find the bits that I think are wrong, then maybe decide that the whole idea is flawed.

I've had brief looks at other religions - and had a similar approach. Ie. Judaism saying the world began just under 6000 years ago & that we have not evolved... It seems that from Judaism came Christianity, then Islam... and most recently we have the Bahá'í religion.

I think about things like how religion was generally polytheistic, but over time became monotheistic... and how these changes came about.

I don't know what this post is going to achieve... but maybe someone can help me in trying to understand the Bahá'í religion a little better.

BruceDLimber

Re: Bahá'í Religion

Postby BruceDLimber » Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:03 am

Greetings, Tom, and welcome to the neighborhood! :-)

It's great to have you here!

What you mentioned is indeed the Abrahamic sequence of religions (though we see the Babi Faith as a separate step after Islam and before the Baha'i Faith itself). There are of course otehr religions that don't fit this sequence, and we recognize a number of them--indeed, ALL the great religons--as valid.