Chronology of Significant Events in Iranian History Since 1500

1501	Foundation of the Safavid empire and establishment of Shi'ism as the state religion of Iran.
1587-1629	Reign of 'Abbas the Great; centralization of Safavid state.
1722	Afghan conquest of Isfahan and the overthrow of the Safavid Dynasty.
1736-47	Reign of Nader Shah Afshar; subversion of Shi'ism.
1747- early 1760s	Anarchy and the dominance of tribal warlords.
mid-1760s-1779	Pacification of the tribes and the reign of Karim Khan Zand.
1779-94	Tribal anarchy and the rise of the Qajars.
1770s-1800	Independent growth of the influence of the Shi'ite hierocracy.
1796	Coronation of Aqa Mohammad Khan Qajar.
1797–1834	Reign of Fath 'Ali Shah Qajar; concord between the state and the Shi'ite hierocracy.
1834-48	Reign of Mohammad Shah Qajar.
1848-96	Reign of Naser al-Din Shah Qajar.
1848-51	Centralizing reforms of Mirza Taqi Khan, Amir Nezam.
1891–92	Nationwide protest against the tobacco concession is led by the Shi'ite religious leaders and results in its repeal.
1896-1907	Reign of Mozaffar al-Din Shah Qajar.
Aug. 5, 1906	Iran is granted a parliament (Majles) in response to popular agitation led by the Shi'ite religious leaders.
1907-09	Reign of Mohammad 'Ali Shah Qajar.
Oct. 25– Dec. 19, 1907	Reforming cabinet of Naser al-Molk, who also serves as finance minister.
Feb. 29, 1908	Sani' al-Dawleh, minister of public works since Oct. 1907, also takes over the ministry of finance.
June 23, 1908	Bombardment of the Majles and restoration of autocracy.
July 1909	Conquest of Tehran by the Constitutionalists and restoration of constitutional government.
1909-25	Reign of Soltan Ahmad Shah Qajar.

Chronology

Oct. 30, 1910– Mar. 11, 1911	Reforming (second) Cabinet of Mostawfi al-Mamalek; Sani' al- Dawleh serves as finance minister until his assassination on Feb. 6, 1911.
NovDec. 1911	Occupation of Northern Iran by Russian troops and aborting of the Constitutionalists' reforms.
Oct. 1925	Abolition of the Qajar Dynasty.
Dec. 1925	Reza Khan is declared Shah and monarchy is transferred to the Pahlavi Dynasty.
1925–41	Reign of Reza Shah Pahlavi; formation of a centralized bu- reaucratic state.
1941-79	Reign of Mohammad Reza Shah Pahlavi.
1944–53	Nationalization of oil, masterminded by Mohammad Mosaddeq, dominates Iranian politics.
1963–79	Mohammad Reza Shah's programs of reform and moderniza- tion, officially designated the "White Revolution" and the "Rev- olution of the Shah and the People."
Feb. 1979	Overthrow of the Pahlavi Dynasty and end of monarchy.
Dec. 1979	Ratification of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Iran by national referendum.